

(1). **APPOINTMENTS**

The following appointments have been made:

(a) Department of Communication and Language Arts

Prof. A. Ojebode - Head, for a period of four years with retrospective effect from 01 August, 2016.

(b) Kuti Hall

Mr. U. K. Ekemezie, Establishments Division

- Assistant Warden, for a period of two years with retrospective effect from 08 January, 2016

(c) Department of Teacher Education

Prof. C. O. O. Kolawole - Head, for a period of four years with retrospective effect from 01 August, 2016.

(2). BENEFACTIONS:

The University acknowledges with thanks the following benefactions from:

 (a). Prof. Joseph M. Fortunak, Department of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Howard University, USA.
Donation of five (5) refurbished Dell Laptops to the Centre for Drug Discovery, Development and Production (CDDDP), Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Ibadan. (b). Prof. A. O. Dasylva, Department of English Language, Faculty of Arts, University of Ibadan, Ibadan.

Donation of the sum of Twenty-Five Thousand Naira (\$25,000.00) only, being his honorarium as a facilitator at the National Workshop on Pedagogy and Teaching Technology Fair which held from 02-04 August, 2016.

(c). Director, Distance Learning Centre, University of Ibadan, Ibadan.

Provision of the Ultra-Modern University of Ibadan Distance Learning CBT Centre Ajibode, free of charge for use for the National Workshop on Pedagogy and Teaching Technology Fair which held from 02 - 04 August, 2016.

Donations (b and c) were made to the Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning towards the National Workshop on Pedagogy and Teaching Technology Fair which held from 02 - 04 August, 2016.

(d). Pharm. Abiola Adekunle, c/o Kunle Ara Pharmacy, 2' Queen Elizabeth II Road, Harbony Company, U.C.H. Area.

Donation of five (5) First-Aid Boxes for the use of staff and students of the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Ibadan.

(e). Prof. D. O. Adejumo, Department of Animal Science, Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry.

Donation of the sum of ₦, 202, 000.00 (One million, Two Hundred and Two Thousand naira) only for the renovation of the Department of Animal Science Staff Common Room.

(3). UNIVERSITY OF IBADAN ALUMNI ASSOCIATION (UIAA):

The following were elected as members of the new executive council of the University of Ibadan Alumni Association at its 24th National Congress which held on 06 August, 2016 in the Senate Chamber, University of Ibadan.

1.	Dr. Kemi Emina	-	President
2.	Barrister K. O. O. Olaniyan	-	1 st National Vice President
3.	Prof. Uche Emeraton	-	2 nd National Vice President
4.	Chief Francis A. Odion	-	3 rd National Vice President
5.	Dr. A. N. Fajemisin	-	National Secretary
6.	Mr. Olumoyegun Temidire	-	1 st Asst. National Secretary

- 7. Dr. Patrick Omuku
- 8. Mr. Joseph A. Akaanan
- 9. Dr. Elsie O. Adewoye
- 10. Mr. Samuel Obinyan
- 11. Dr. Ayodele O. Oladimeji
- 12. Barrister R. A. Eyinade
- 13. Dr. Uche Uzokwe
- 14. Engr. Abiola Ogunjobi
- 15. Prof. S. G. Nyityo

- 2nd Asst. National Secretary
- National Treasurer
- National Financial Secretary
 - National Publicity Secretary
- National Social Secretary
- National Legal Adviser
- Ex-Officio Member
- Ex-Officio Member
- Ex-Officio Member

(4). HONOUR AND DISTINCTION

Dr. A. A. Adepoju of the Department of Statistics, Faculty of Science has been nominated as the First American Statistical Association (ASA) Educational Ambassador for Nigeria, 2016, by the American Statistical Association (ASA) Committee on International Relations in Statistics.

-

(5). COURTESY CALL

The new Executive Council of the University of Ibadan Alumni Association, (a) (UIAA) paid a courtesy call on the Vice Chancellor, Prof. A. I. Olayinka, FAS, on Friday, 16 September, 2016. The purpose of the visit was to introduce the new executive members to the University Management and intimate them of the plans of the Association. The team was led by the National President, Dr. Kemi Emina and he was accompanied by the 1st National Vice President, Barr. K. O. O. Olaniyan; 2nd National Vice President, Prof. Uche Emeraton; 3rd Vice President, Chief (Sir) Francis Ade Odion; National Secretary, Dr. A. N. Fajemisin; 1st Assistant National Secretary, Mr. Olumoyegun Temidire; 2nd National Assistant Secretary, Mr. P. E. Omuku; National Treasurer, Mr. J. A. Akaanan; National Financial Secretary, Dr. Elsie O. Adewoye; National Publicity Secretary, Mr. Samuel Obiyan; National Social Secretary, Dr. Avodele. O. Oladimeji; National Ex-Officio, Dr. Uche Uzokwe; National Ex-Officio, Engr. Ogunjobi Abiola; Ex-Officio, Prof.S.G.Nyityo and the Administrative Secretary, Rev. Babatunde Alao. Present at the occasion were the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration), Prof. E .A. Aiyelari and the Director, Public Communication, Mr. O. M. Oladejo.

The Honourable Minister of Communication, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Alhaji (b). Adebayo Shittu, paid a courtesy call on the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Abel Idowu Olayinka FAS, ably represented by the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) Professor Gbemisola A. Oke on Saturday, 17 September, 2016. The purpose of the visit was the Information Technology Competition among Female Pupils in Oyo State organised by the Nigerian Women in Information Technology in partnership with the Nigerian Computer Society. He was accompanied on the visit by Mr. Orah Francis, Acting Zonal Director, Nigerian Television Authority, Ibadan, Mr. Jide Awe; representative of the President, Nigerian Computer Society, Dr. Florence Babalola; President, Nigerian Women in Information Technology, Mrs. B. C. Owolabi; Coordinator, Nigerian Women in Information Technology, Mrs. O. O. Orioke; State Secretary, Nigerian Women in Information Technology, Miss B .A. Samotu; State Welfare Officer Nigerian Women in Information Technology and Mr. Q. A. Babatunde, Personal Assistant to the Honourable Minister of Communication. Present at the occasion were the Director of Special Duties, Professor K. O. Adebowale; Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Professor Peace C. Babalola; Dean, Faculty of Education, Professor M. K. Akinsola; Dean of Students, Professor A.T.P Ajuwape; Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, Professor O. G. Ademowo; Deputy Dean of Students, Dr A. I. Abiona; Chief Security Officer, Mr. J. Akindoyo; Deputy Chief Security Officer, Mr. Victor Fadeyibi and the representative of the Director, Public Communication, Mr. O. O. Oladipo.

PUBLISHED BY THE DIRECTORATE OF PUBLIC COMMUNICATION, OFFICE OF THE VICE-CHANCELLOR