ACU Centenary Awards to the University of Ibadan.

 |  Written by admin  |  0

To mark its Centenary in 2013, the Association of Commonwealth Universities set up a fund to offer 100 small grants to early career academic staff of member institutions, who have had limited opportunities for professional overseas travel particularly to other commonwealth countries.

This year's batch of 40 awards saw 5 of our staff being recipients. They are as follows:

  • Mr. Kazeem Adesola Adepoju - Department of Statistics.
  • Mrs. Temitayo Ajayi - Department of Pharmacognosy, Faculty of Pharmacy.
  • Miss. Abimbola Benson - Department o Theater Arts.
  • Mrs. Morenike Ogunkunle - Department of Human Nutrition, Faculty of Public Health.
  • Mr. Shehu-Tijani Shittu – Endocrinology and Metabolism Unit, Department of Physiology, College of Medicine.

This grant is typically used for attendance at academic conference or to visit potential collaborators. The awards are small, but it is hoped that they would have distinctive impact.

In third year of this award scheme, another 40 awards will be given. The emphasis on early career reflects ACU research which shows this as a critical period for academics throughout the world at a time when higher education is expanding in many countries.

University of Ibadan is one of over five hundred members of the Association, spread over fifty countries. Further details of the Association’s work, including details of the next round of early career awards, can be found on the ACU web site at